Chancel Choir

Chancel Choir Spring Cantata

The Chancel Choir is the adult choir of the First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. It provides music each week for the 11:00am service and performs two cantatas each year at Christmas and in the spring. New members are most cordially invited!

The Chancel Choir goals are to:

  • Provide music for Christ-centered worship that stimulates the hearts and minds of singers and congregation.
  • Provide service opportunities for singers to give of their talents to the church community.
  • Include a variety of choral styles of quality choral literature which accommodate the talents and limitations of the choir membership.
  • Feature anthems and responses that address sermon themes and liturgical seasons.
  • Provide two special services (cantatas and themed programs) annually.
  • Provide a supportive, friendly social community for choir members.
Age Range: 
Adult
Choir Director: 
Diane Hires
Accompanist: 
Pattie Barnes
Rehearsal Time: 
Beginning September 4, 2019 - Thursdays, 7:30pm to 9:10pm
Rehearsal Room: 
Fellowship Hall
Performance Dates: 
Sunday, September 8, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 15, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, September 22, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, September 29, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 6, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 13, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 20, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, October 27, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 3, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 10, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, November 17, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 24, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 1, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 8, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 8, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 15, 2019 - 11:00am
Tuesday, December 24, 2019 - 9:00pm
Sunday, January 12, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, January 19, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, January 26, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 2, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 9, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 16, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, March 1, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, March 8, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, March 15, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, March 29, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, April 5, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, April 12, 2020 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 12, 2020 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 19, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, April 26, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, May 3, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, May 10, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, May 17, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, May 24, 2020 - 10:00am
Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, May 24, 2020 - 10:00am
Rehearsal Schedule: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu May 14 2020 except Thu Nov 28 2019, Thu Dec 26 2019, Thu Jan 02 2020. Also includes Tue Nov 26 2019.

News and Events

Christmas Eve Services 2021

You are Invited to Celebrate Christmas Eve with us!
Join us on Friday, December 24! 

4:00 p.m. - Christmas Eve Family Worship

A worship celebration specially geared toward children and their families, with music provided by the Children's Choirs (Angel, Cherub, Chorister, and Connection Choirs).

Worship Service on YouTube


9:00 p.m. Christmas Eve Family Service

A traditional Christmas Eve service featuring our Chancel Choir and a candlelight carol-sing.

Worship Service on YouTube  Worship Service Bulletin


11:00 p.m. Christmas Eve Candlelight Service

Greet the first moments of Christmas morning with a traditional Christmas Eve service featuring the Chapel Choir and a candlelight carol-sing.

Worship Service on YouTube  Worship Service Bulletin

Christmas Carol Celebration

Invite your family and friends to join you this Sunday, December 5 for the 10:00 a.m. service for an opportunity to develop your Christmas spirit!

The Chancel Choir, joined by guest Children’s Choirs, will be presenting a Christmas Carol Celebration. The cantata service will feature Advent scriptures, poems, choir anthems, and congregational singing of favorite carols.

New arrangements of Hark, the Herald Angels Sing and O Come All Ye Faithful will spotlight the piano four hands of Joy Doran and Pattie Barnes. Sing, listen, pray, and develop your joy of the season!

Welcome Social and First Rehearsal

Do you love to sing?

Join the Chancel Choir! Welcome social and first rehearsal are Thursday, September 9:    7:00 - Fellowship Time, 7:30 - Rehearsal

The choir is open to new members, so please join us!

Date: 
Thursday, September 9, 2021 - 7:00pm

Christmas Eve Services

You Are Invited to Celebrate Christmas Eve with us!
Join us on Thursday, December 24! 

4:00 p.m. - Family & Children Christmas Eve Service

This family service is prerecorded and features some of the members of our children's choirs and church families. Pastor John leads us!

View Video


7:00 p.m. Online Family Christmas Eve Service

This service will be on Zoom and feature the Chapel Choir with Pastor Claude offering the sermon.

View Bulletin | View Music


10:00 p.m. Online Traditional Christmas Eve Service

This service will be live on Zoom and most closely follow our traditional Christmas Eve worship service. Pastor Claude officiates.

View Bulletin | View Music

Advent wreath lighting and Pastor Claude's Advent Series Sermon (Week 4)

Fourth Sunday of Advent

Join Pastor Claude in his Advent Sermon Series based on the book, "Down to Earth" by Mike Slaughter with Rachel Billups for this Fourth Sunday in Advent sermon and advent wreath lighting with Deacon Wes and his family. Down To Earth: Obedience is the fourth of Pastor Claude’s Advent sermons and is based on Luke 1:26-38.

"This Advent season we are looking for God to show up and be felt in a way that is palpable to offset the harshness and heartaches from a year full of harrowing events. We need to feel a down-to-earth God."

View the advent wreath lighting and Pastor Claude's sermon here:

Pastor Claude Advent Sermon Series 4 from DGFUMC Dorr on Vimeo.

Pages

Copyright © 2021 First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. Please report any problems to webmaster@dgfumc.org.