Chancel Choir

Chancel Choir Spring Cantata

The Chancel Choir is the adult choir of the First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. It provides music each week for the 11:00am service and performs two cantatas each year at Christmas and in the spring. New members are most cordially invited!

The Chancel Choir goals are to:

  • Provide music for Christ-centered worship that stimulates the hearts and minds of singers and congregation.
  • Provide service opportunities for singers to give of their talents to the church community.
  • Include a variety of choral styles of quality choral literature which accommodate the talents and limitations of the choir membership.
  • Feature anthems and responses that address sermon themes and liturgical seasons.
  • Provide two special services (cantatas and themed programs) annually.
  • Provide a supportive, friendly social community for choir members.
Age Range: 
Adult
Choir Director: 
Diane Hires
Accompanist: 
Pattie Barnes
Rehearsal Time: 
Beginning September 6, 2018 - Thursdays, 7:30pm to 9:10pm
Rehearsal Room: 
Fellowship Hall
Performance Dates: 
Sunday, September 9, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 16, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, September 23, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 7, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 14, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 28, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, November 4, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 11, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 25, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 2, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 2, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 9, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 16, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 23, 2018 - 11:00am
Monday, December 24, 2018 - 9:00pm
Sunday, January 13, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, January 20, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, January 27, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, February 3, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 10, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, February 17, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, February 24, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 3, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 10, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 24, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 14, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 28, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, May 12, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, May 26, 2019 - 10:00am
Rehearsal Schedule: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu May 16 2019 except Thu Nov 22 2018, Thu Dec 27 2018, Thu Jan 03 2019. Also includes Tue Nov 20 2018.

News and Events

Caroling Around the World – The Christmas Cantata

Caroling Around the World

Gather your friends and families and come enjoy the Chancel Choir Christmas Cantata, Caroling Around the World, this Sunday, December 2.

We open our hearts to familiar and new carols from 20 countries featuring vocal and instrumental soloists with the Chancel Choir.

Rev. John Smoke, our Christian Education Director, will lead the global tour for children, and projection designs will enhance our music without borders.

The 55-voice Chancel Choir is conducted by Ms. Diane Hires.

Chancel Choir Fellowship and First Rehearsal

Do you love to sing?

Join the Chancel Choir! First rehearsal and fellowship time are Thursday, Sept. 6 - 7:00 - Fellowship, 7:30 - Rehearsal

The choir would love to have new members so please join!

Date: 
Thursday, September 6, 2018 - 7:00pm

Chancel Choir Cantata

On Sunday, April 15, the Chancel Choir will present their annual spring cantata. This year, they will perform The Holy Spirit Mass: Together in Hope, a wonderful choral work by the internationally renowned Norwegian composer, Kim André Arnesen, who writes music that combines touching simplicity with majestic power. The choir will be accompanied by a 17-piece string orchestra and guest singers.

The work was commissioned to commemorate the 500th Anniversary of the Reformation as an ecumenical offering drawing on both the traditional Latin mass and Lutheran musical heritage. Its first performance was at an interfaith concert by the National Lutheran Choir in Washington DC last year, so this is an exciting opportunity to hear a major new choral piece within a year of its world première.

Please invite your family and friends to experience this musical celebration of our faith at both the 9:30 and 11:00am services.

Chancel Choir Christmas Cantata - Glad Tidings

Gather your friends and family who like to sing and come enjoy the Chancel Choir Christmas Cantata on Sunday, December 3. The service will feature our favorite carols in lush symphonic arrangements by Randol Alan Bass and will have opportunities for the congregation to join us in song.

John Smoke, our Christian Education Director, will narrate the Christmas story for children of all ages as told in these cherished carols. The service will also feature carol inspired, real-time visual art created by Jocelyn Danalewich.

The 55-voice Chancel Choir and 24-piece guest orchestra will be conducted by Ms. Diane Hires.

As a start to the Advent season,
Oh, come, let us adore him!

DGFUMC Choirs are starting soon!

The Choirs Are Coming! The Choirs Are Coming!

Pages

Copyright © 2018 First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. Please report any problems to webmaster@dgfumc.org.