Raising White Kids: A Book Study

Raising White Kids: An Online Book Study

What do children need to understand about racism? How can white parents engage their white children in age appropriate conversations about racial injustice? Dr. Jennifer Harvey explores these questions and more in her book Raising White Kids: Bringing Up Children in a Racially Unjust America. Join us for this eight-week study!

For the first seven weeks, we'll work through the book, one chapter a week. We'll choose a weekly takeaway we can apply in our own families and check in with each other on how the effort went the next week before engaging in the new chapter. In the final week, we'll talk about engaging in conversations on race, not only from the perspective of being parents, but of being Christians and how our theology can help.

Pastor Anna will be facilitating these conversations and especially invites parents and teachers to participate!

Choose from one of the two group times:
• Wednesdays at 8:00 p.m. from June 17 - August 5

OR

• Fridays at Noon from June 19 - August 7
Our Zoom link for the book study is located here.

You may also click the link below to join the book study: 

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87113527411

Location: 
Online
Date: 
Wednesday, June 17, 2020 - 8:00pm to Thursday, June 18, 2020 - 7:59pm
Friday, June 19, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, June 20, 2020 - 11:59am
Wednesday, June 24, 2020 - 8:00pm to Thursday, June 25, 2020 - 7:59pm
Friday, June 26, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, June 27, 2020 - 11:59am
Wednesday, July 1, 2020 - 8:00pm to Thursday, July 2, 2020 - 7:59pm
Friday, July 3, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, July 4, 2020 - 11:59am
Wednesday, July 8, 2020 - 8:00pm to Thursday, July 9, 2020 - 7:59pm
Friday, July 10, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, July 11, 2020 - 11:59am
Wednesday, July 15, 2020 - 8:00pm to Thursday, July 16, 2020 - 7:59pm
Friday, July 17, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, July 18, 2020 - 11:59am
Wednesday, July 22, 2020 - 8:00pm to Thursday, July 23, 2020 - 7:59pm
Friday, July 24, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, July 25, 2020 - 11:59am
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 - 8:00pm to Thursday, July 30, 2020 - 7:59pm
Friday, July 31, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, August 1, 2020 - 11:59am
Wednesday, August 5, 2020 - 8:00pm to Thursday, August 6, 2020 - 7:59pm
Friday, August 7, 2020 - 12:00pm to Saturday, August 8, 2020 - 11:59am

Copyright © 2018 First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. Please report any problems to webmaster@dgfumc.org.