Chapel Choir

Chapel ChoirThe Chapel Choir has a rich history at First United Methodist Church. It has led Sunday worship at the 9:30 Sunday morning service during the school year since 1960. It is open to all high school youth regardless of musical abilities or background.

For the past 43 years, the choir has participated on a week-long Spring Break musical trip spreading God’s message in words and song to congregations throughout North America, including such places as New York City, Boston, Denver, St. Simon’s Island, Memphis, Pensacola, Nashville, Toronto, Myrtle Beach, Orlando, Philadelphia, Virginia Beach, Ft. Worth, New Orleans, Atlanta, Washington D.C., Wilmington, and many communities in between. The 2017 tour will take place March 26, 2017 - April 1, 2017.

Choir members practice Sunday morning after the 9:30 worship service as well as Wednesday night in preparation of their Christmas Concert and choir tour. Members also give their time through fundraising and mission trip activities at church. The youth are actively involved at their schools in athletics, speech, band, choir, dance, and many clubs.

The Chapel Choir goals are to:

  • Share our faith in Jesus Christ through our music and our actions.
  • Learn to participate in the leading of a Worship Service.
  • Grow in our music skills through our rehearsal and performance schedule.
  • Develop new relationships within our own group
  • Learn to participate in and contribute to a large, diversified group.

The Chapel Choir rehearses on Wednesdays from 7:00pm to 8:15pm.

Choir Director: 
Joy Belt-Roselieb, Director
Accompanist: 
Kevin Zehme
Rehearsal Time: 
Wednesdays, 7:00pm to 8:15pm
Rehearsal Room: 
Fellowship Hall
Performance Dates: 
Sunday, September 11, 2016 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 18, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, September 25, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 2, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 9, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 16, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 23, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 30, 2016 - 10:00am
Sunday, November 6, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, November 13, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, November 13, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, November 27, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 11, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 18, 2016 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 18, 2016 - 4:00pm
Sunday, January 8, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, January 15, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, January 22, 2017 - 10:00am
Sunday, January 29, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, February 5, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, February 12, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, February 19, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, February 26, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, March 5, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, March 12, 2017 - 10:00am
Sunday, March 19, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, March 19, 2017 - 7:00pm
Sunday, April 2, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 2, 2017 - 4:00pm
Sunday, April 9, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 16, 2017 - 8:00am
Sunday, April 23, 2017 - 11:00am
Sunday, May 7, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, May 14, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, May 21, 2017 - 9:30am
Sunday, May 28, 2017 - 10:00am
Sunday, June 4, 2017 - 10:00am
Rehearsal Schedule: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed May 24 2017 except Wed Nov 23 2016, Wed Dec 21 2016, Wed Dec 28 2016, Wed Mar 29 2017.

News and Events

Church staff position available

Chapel Choir Director

First United Methodist Church of Downers Grove is seeking a Youth Choir Director to organize and manage all aspects of its renowned Chapel Choir Program. The responsibilities include but are not limited to rehearsals, the Worship Service, Christmas Concert and the Spring Break Choir tour.  The successful candidate will have professional training in music/music education, experience in choral conducting and ideally experience in working with high school age youth.  An experienced team of Pastors, adult leaders and church staff will both interface with and support the Chapel Choir Director in his/her musical endeavors.  

Interested parties should send resumes to Ward Feste for consideration.

Comments

This position has been filled and is no longer available as of 8/1/11.

Hosts Needed for Visiting Choir

Revelation ChoirHome stays with host families have always been an important part of Chapel Choir tours. It has also allowed us to keep tour fees reasonable and for our youth to interact with members of other congregations. Now it's our turn. On Tuesday, June 14, our church will host the Revelation Choir from Custer Road UMC in Plano, TX. We need help with dinner preparation, housing and attendance for their concert. So far, only seven families have offered beds for the nights. Please contact Don Dunham (630-968-7120 x 210) if you are willing to assist or want more details.

40th Annual Chapel Choir Tour

The Chapel Choir started their 40th Annual Spring Break Tour on Sunday evening at Gary Memorial UMC in Wheaton. It was a great night. The youth group at Gary Church greeted us warmly with a pizza dinner. They sat at table with our students and strangers became friends. It felt like we were really on tour.

On Saturday, March 26 we will pack two 45 passenger motor coaches, the technical term for buses, and head east!

  • First stop the University of Michigan for lunch and tee shirts. Then to the Pontiac MI area, a concert at Waterford Central UMC Saturday evening.
  • Worship at both Grace & Peace UMC and Four Towns UMCs on Sunday and an afternoon at the Henry Ford Museum.
  • Monday we cross the border at Sarnia ON, Lunch in London and singing at St Paul’s United Church in Oakville ON.
  • Tuesday we play in Niagara Falls.
  • Wednesday we arrive in Toronto for a concert at Humber Valley United Church.
  • For years, the choir has wanted a beach, so on Thursday we’ll goback to Niagara Falls and spend the morning at an indoor water park. A concert at First Baptist Church of London ON Thursday evening will be our last in Canada.
  • On Friday, we enter the USA at Port Huron MI. Our last tour concert will be at First UMC Birmingham MI.

Watch for updates on the DGFUMC web site!!

Come see the Chapel Choir perform their tour concert here at home on Sunday, April 3 at 4:00pm and 7:00pm.

Housing Needed For Visiting Youth Choir

The saying is that everything is bigger in Texas and the Custer Road UMC Revelation Choir is a great example. The 125-member high school choir will present a concert in our sanctuary on Tuesday, June 14 and we are soliciting housing for as many of the youth and their chaperones as possible. While they are prepared to roll out sleeping bags on the gym floor and use our showers if necessary, we would like to provide homes for as many of their group as possible. Home stays have always been a memorable part of our Chapel Choir tours. Host families will need to provide breakfast on the 15th. Please check your calendar and contact Don Dunham regarding how many youth you are willing to host, if you have pets and whether you have a gender or age preference.

Pre Tour Reminder

The Chapel Choir Pre Tour concert is this Sunday, March 20 at Gary Memorial UMC in Wheaton IL. The concert is set for 7:00 pm. We hope to see you there!!!

Copyright © 2017 First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. Please report any problems to webmaster@dgfumc.org.