Chapel Choir

Chapel ChoirThe Chapel Choir has a rich history at First United Methodist Church. It has led Sunday worship at the 9:30 Sunday morning service during the school year since 1960. It is open to all high school youth regardless of musical abilities or background.

For the past 48 years, the choir has participated on a week-long Spring Break musical trip spreading God’s message in words and song to congregations throughout North America, including such places as New York City, Boston, Denver, St. Simon’s Island, Memphis, Pensacola, Nashville, Toronto, Myrtle Beach, Orlando, Philadelphia, Virginia Beach, Ft. Worth, New Orleans, Atlanta, Washington D.C., Wilmington, and many communities in between. The 2019 tour will take place March 23 to March 30, 2019. The choir will be traveling to Dallas, Texas this year. Sponsor a Bus Seat for $25 using this form. 

Choir members practice Sunday morning after the 9:30 worship service as well as Wednesday night in preparation of their Christmas Concert and choir tour. Members also give their time through fundraising and mission trip activities at church. The youth are actively involved at their schools in athletics, speech, band, choir, dance, and many clubs.

The Chapel Choir goals are to:

  • Share our faith in Jesus Christ through our music and our actions.
  • Learn to participate in the leading of a Worship Service.
  • Grow in our music skills through our rehearsal and performance schedule.
  • Develop new relationships within our own group
  • Learn to participate in and contribute to a large, diversified group.

The Chapel Choir rehearses on Wednesdays from 7:00pm to 8:15pm.

Choir Director: 
Nick Loos, Director
Accompanist: 
Kevin Zehme
Rehearsal Time: 
Wednesdays, 7:00pm to 8:15pm
Rehearsal Room: 
Fellowship Hall
Performance Dates: 
Sunday, September 9, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 16, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, September 23, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 7, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 14, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, October 28, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, November 4, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, November 11, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, November 25, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 9, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 16, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 23, 2018 - 9:30am
Monday, December 24, 2018 - 11:00pm
Sunday, January 13, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, January 20, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, January 27, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, February 3, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 10, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, February 17, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, February 24, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, March 3, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, March 10, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 4:00pm
Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 4:00pm
Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 14, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 8:00am
Sunday, April 28, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, May 12, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, May 26, 2019 - 10:00am
Rehearsal Schedule: 
Repeats every week every Wednesday until Wed May 15 2019 except Wed Nov 21 2018, Wed Dec 19 2018, Wed Dec 26 2018, Wed Jan 02 2019, Wed Mar 27 2019.

News and Events

Chapel Choir Accompanist Position Available

Applications are now being accepted for the staff position of Chapel Choir Accompanist. If you or anyone you know are interested please send your resume to either Andi or Sharon. A job description is available below, or call (630.968.7120), or stop by the church office.

Youth Group on Instagram

Chapel Choir Tour BusYou can now follow the tour with photos on Instagram. We have our own page for the DGFUMC Youth Group.

Grant has already uploaded pictures from our first day in Carbondale and our second in Walls, Mississipi, taking in Graceland on the way.

Day 2 Choir Tour

At the end of Day 2, we recall a multitude of accomplishments that we did not foresee.   Our bus driver received the nickname, Mr. Wonderful, a few years ago from another choir ensemble.  They were traveling in the New England area during a series of winter snowstorms, Jeff made them a promise that they would not have to have to suffer walking through a storm while dressed in their long black gowns.  The week of storms took pause each time they gave their concerts.   Mr. Wonderful travels took us through 5 different states and some heavy rain storms.  Just as his name promised, the rains would stop for each of our travel and lunch breaks.

Day 1 Choir Tour

Kick off at DGFUMC with introduction of bus driver Jeff, goodbyes to family and blessing of the tour by Katie Kiss.  All the luggage, equipment and food were packed on the bus for departure at 6 AM.  We toured Southern Illinois University campus upon arrival in Carbondale.  Dinner was provided by members of the Carbondale United Methodist Church.  They served the world’s best smoked barbeque baked beans, pulled pork, salad and many fresh vegetables.  Red velvet cake and brownies were served to celebrate birthdays for Kelsey, Leah, Luke and Rebecca.  Then we left with our host families and had a great time. I know from my first experience that the families were fantastic.  I slept well and woke up to eggs and bacon.  It doesn’t get much better than that.  The church showed us great hospitality and we all are truly grateful to be a part of their service this morning.

Chapel Choir Tour Updates

Day 1 on the busThe 42nd Annual Chapel Choir Tour is on its way to New Orleans. The best way to keep updated with their progress is to "like" the DGFUMC Youth Facebook Page where their tweets and blogs will be cross-posted. Make sure to hover over the 'Liked' button and click 'Add to News Feed'" to make sure you see any new posts.

They have already reached their first stop in Carbondale, where they perform this evening.

Pages

Copyright © 2018 First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. Please report any problems to webmaster@dgfumc.org.