Chancel Choir

Chancel Choir Spring Cantata

The Chancel Choir is the adult choir of the First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. It provides music each week for the 11:00am service and performs two cantatas each year at Christmas and in the spring. New members are most cordially invited!

The Chancel Choir goals are to:

  • Provide music for Christ-centered worship that stimulates the hearts and minds of singers and congregation.
  • Provide service opportunities for singers to give of their talents to the church community.
  • Include a variety of choral styles of quality choral literature which accommodate the talents and limitations of the choir membership.
  • Feature anthems and responses that address sermon themes and liturgical seasons.
  • Provide two special services (cantatas and themed programs) annually.
  • Provide a supportive, friendly social community for choir members.
Age Range: 
Adult
Choir Director: 
Diane Hires
Accompanist: 
Pattie Barnes
Rehearsal Time: 
Beginning September 6, 2018 - Thursdays, 7:30pm to 9:10pm
Rehearsal Room: 
Fellowship Hall
Performance Dates: 
Sunday, September 9, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, September 16, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, September 23, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, September 30, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 7, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 14, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 21, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, October 28, 2018 - 10:00am
Sunday, November 4, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 11, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 18, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, November 25, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 2, 2018 - 9:30am
Sunday, December 2, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 9, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 16, 2018 - 11:00am
Sunday, December 23, 2018 - 11:00am
Monday, December 24, 2018 - 9:00pm
Sunday, January 13, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, January 20, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, January 27, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, February 3, 2019 - 10:00am
Sunday, February 10, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, February 17, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, February 24, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 3, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 10, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 17, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 24, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, March 31, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 7, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 14, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, April 21, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, April 28, 2019 - 9:30am
Sunday, May 12, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, May 19, 2019 - 11:00am
Sunday, May 26, 2019 - 10:00am
Rehearsal Schedule: 
Repeats every week every Thursday until Thu May 16 2019 except Thu Nov 22 2018, Thu Dec 27 2018, Thu Jan 03 2019. Also includes Tue Nov 20 2018.

News and Events

A Sunday Morning with Alice Parker

DGFUMC is hosting international choral celebrity, Alice Parker, the woman who shaped the face of choral music in America, and who will lead the congregation in discovering the beauty in hymn singing on Sunday, November 6 at our 11:00 a.m. worship service. She will build the musicality of each and every person present; and this service is one you will remember for years to come. At 90 years old, Mrs. Parker is making her victory lap, and this trip to the Midwest is to be one of her last out of her home state of Massachusetts.

Join us as we learn from this internationally renowned composer, conductor and teacher, as she leads the congregation in a Community Sing Service featuring beloved hymns both old and new. 

Please invite your friends and neighbors to a special morning of singing.

All Are Welcome!

Chancel Choir Spring Cantata - Sunrise Mass

The Chancel Choir will be presenting an evocative contemporary cantata, Sunrise Mass, by Norwegian-American Ola Gjeilo on Sunday, April 17 at the 9:30 and 11:00 a.m. worship services. Gjeilo, widely regarded as an important new composer, has created “a most beautiful and satisfying music for our time, a beacon of hope in the world.” 

The four movements of the piece - The Spheres, Sunrise, The City, and Identity & The Ground - move from transparent and celestial to emotional and dramatic. Projection designs will enhance the listener’s experience. This young composer intends Sunrise Mass to be “a metaphor for human development from child to maturity and a spiritual journey.”

We hope you will join us for this unique and moving musical experience!

Chancel Choir Christmas Cantata - An Alice Parker Christmas

Alice Parker is a living musical legend whose work teaching congregations to sing and music directors to arrange and interpret has inspired thousands around the world. Alice’s arrangements and recordings with the Robert Shaw Chorale served to popularize choral music in our country. The program will feature ensembles and choir, and congregational singing.

Please come and begin your Advent season by listening to and joining the choir in singing favorite Christmas carols.

Chancel Choir Rehearsal

Practice for our Chancel Choir, our church's adult choir.

Location: 
Fellowship Hall
Date: 
Thursday, September 17, 2015 - 7:30pm

Chancel Choir Welcome Social And First Rehearsal

The season kick off for the Chancel Choir, our church's adult choir.

Date: 
Thursday, September 10, 2015 - 7:00pm

Pages

Copyright © 2018 First United Methodist Church, Downers Grove. Please report any problems to webmaster@dgfumc.org.